• Home
  • Predictions
  • UEFA Champions League: Manchester United vs Barcelona – preview, line-ups, prediction

UEFA Champions League: Manchester United vs Barcelona – preview, line-ups, prediction

Reuters/Lee Smith

Within the European club tournaments, the teams held 11 face-to-face meetings. United achieved three victories, Barcelona can boast with four victories.

The last two matches of the teams took place in the Champions League finals, both ended with victories of the Catalan club.

This season, in the framework of the Champions League, Manchester United held eight meetings in which they got four victories, played a draw once, and lost three matches.

Barcelona won five out of the same eight meetings, three duels played in a draw, without losing a single match. United score 1.2 goals per match, on average, concede 0.9 goal per game. Barcelona score 2.4 goals per game while missing 0.8.

Antonio Valencia and Eric Bailly didn’t have time to recover for the match. Alexis Sanchez is also set to miss the upcoming meeting due to injury.

Several players of the hosts will miss the return battle in the Champions League if they receive a yellow card: Ander Herrera, Nemanja Matic, Luke Shaw, Antonio Valencia and Ashley Young.

Ousmane Dembele already prepares for the game in the general group. But Thomas Vermaelen may miss tonight’s duel due to a hamstring injury.

Nelson Semedo and Sergio Busquets will miss the second match with Manchester United in case of getting a yellow card.

Possible line-ups:

Manchester United: De Gea, Young, Smalling, Lindelof, Shaw, Matic, Herrera, Pogba, Lingard, Rashford, Lukaku

Barcelona: Ter Stegen, Roberto, Pique, Lenglet, Alba, Rakitic, Busquets, Vidal, Messi, Suarez, Coutinho

Date/Time: Wednesday, April 10, 2019, 9pm CET, 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Thursday)

Venue: Old Trafford, Manchester, England

Referee: Gianluca Rocchi (ITA)

Prediction: 1:2

(Reporting by Dan McGlush, editing by Valerie Cooper)

< PREVIOUS ARTICLE
Marcelo showed miracles with the ball
NEXT ARTICLE >
Hazard will refuse to sign new contract with Chelsea
RELATED POSTS
United are ready to make Phelan their sporting director
Dani Alves updated record for number of titles won
Five talking points from the weekend in LaLiga
Young confident misfiring Man United will be ready for City
Neville slams players for “rancid” United display
Man City’s Bernardo Silva thriving under title pressure ahead of derby test

Leave a Reply