• Home
  • Predictions
  • UEFA Champions League: Barcelona vs Liverpool – preview, line-ups, prediction

UEFA Champions League: Barcelona vs Liverpool – preview, line-ups, prediction

Reuters/John Sibley

Before just a step from the UCL final, let us recall the tournament path of both teams.

In the current UCL campaign, Ernesto Valverde’s squad has not yet lost. Barcelona confidently won their quartet, got four victories, and played a draw twice.

At the stage of the playoffs, in the Round of 16, after a draw 0:0 in France, the Catalans beat Lyon 5:1 at home. The Blaugranas didn’t give any chances to Manchester United in the quarter-finals (1-0 away and 3-0 win at Camp Nou).

However, the Red’s performance in the group stage was much more difficult. Liverpool lost three times. The Merseysiders lost to Napoli (0:1), Red Star from Serbia (0:2) and PSG (1:2), and the Reds could only enter the playoffs due to a minimal victory in the final matchday against Napoli.

Liverpool were more successful in the playoffs. The English club didn’t find resistance against Bayern Munich (0:0 at home, 3:1 away), than trashed Porto (2:0 at home, 4:1 away).

This season, Barcelona played ten matches in which they scored seven victories, played a draw three times in the Champions League.

Liverpool won six times, one match ended in a draw and lost three times for the same ten matches.

Fabinho and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain are ready to play. Mohammed Salah and Roberto Firmino took part in training with Liverpool’s general group. Valverde’s side can’t count on Thomas Vermaelen and Rafinha.

Possible line-ups:

Barcelona: Ter Stegen; Semedo, Pique, Lenglet, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Melo; Messi, Suarez, Coutinho

Liverpool: Alisson; Alexander-Arnold, Matip, Van Dijk, Robertson; Fabinho, Henderson, Wijnaldum; Salah, Mane, Origi

Date/Time: Wednesday, May 1, 2019, 9pm CET, 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Thursday)

Venue: Camp Nou, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Björn Kuipers (NED)

How to watch on TV: TNT (USA), BT Sport 2 (UK)

Prediction: 2:1

(Reporting by Dan McGlush, editing by Valerie Cooper)

< PREVIOUS ARTICLE
Former Man United defender O'Shea to retire at end of season
NEXT ARTICLE >
Atletico are interested in Porto’s defender
RELATED POSTS
Inspired by Cruyff, De Jong keen to make mark at Barca
Liverpool sign 16-year-old Elliott from Fulham
Liverpool CEO using on-field success to catch commercial giants
Vermaelen joins ex-Barca contingent at Vissel Kobe
Busquets excited to face old pal Iniesta in Kobe
Barca planning for post-Messi era, says club president

Leave a Reply