Man United and Spurs granted Women’s Super League licences

(Image: Twitter/@ManUtdWomen)

Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur have been both formally awarded club licences by the English Football Association to play in the Women’s Super League next season.

United won the second-tier Women’s Championship with a resounding 7-0 victory over Crystal Palace last month, 11 months after the team made a comeback since being scrapped in 2005.

Spurs sealed second spot and promotion with a 1-1 draw at Aston Villa earlier this month.

The FA also confirmed Blackburn Rovers and Coventry United have been awarded licences for next season’s Championship.

Rovers clinched the Women’s National League Northern Premier Division title by a 21-point margin to seal promotion to the second division, while Coventry finished top of the Southern Division.

REUTERS/Reporting by Hardik Vyas in Bengaluru; Editing by Toby Chopra

FC Dallas, Red Bulls both looking to rebound
Brazilian Luiz extends Chelsea deal by two years
Draw for African preliminaries for 2022 World Cup
FA to introduce ‘sin bins’ in grassroots soccer to tackle dissent
Trabzonspor lose CAS appeal over 2010-11 Turkish title
Toronto FC part ways with F Boyd
EFL give Bolton and Bury Monday deadline to prove financial viability
Ronaldinho facing financial troubles in Brazil – report

Leave a Reply